Sign up for the CSCUSA Snow Report for the down-low on all things snow!

Head to Arapahoe Basin for the 14th Annual Beacon Bowl Saturday, February 6

A-Basin Beacon Bowl flyer

The Beacon Bowl is an all-day event developed by the A-Basin Ski Patrol that includes a beacon search competition, avalanche dog and beacon demonstrations, and a freeaprs party – all to benefit the Colorado Avalanche Information Center (CAIC).

Beacon Bowl Competition:

Cost: $20
3 Divisions:

Industry Professional
Junior 18 and under
Includes Beacon Bowl competition, raffle ticket, a beverage and slice of pizza at the aprs party

Schedule of competition:
8:00am: Beacon Bowl registration starts (A-Frame lodge)
9:15am – noon: Beacon Bowl prelims for both divisions (on-mountain)
1:00pm – 2:30pm: Beacon Bowl finals for both divisions (on-mountain)
** on-mountain events will take place near the bottom of the Lenawee Mountain Lift

Free and open to the public:
9:30am – 1:00pm: beacon demonstrations (on-mountain)
10:30am: avalanche dog demonstrations
** on-mountain events will take place near the bottom of the Lenawee Mountain Lift

Demo Village in Base Area:
8:30am- around 3:30pm

Come check out the latest gear from Ortovox, Black Diamond, Pieps, Mammut, and BCA! Demo skis for free from Faction, Cold Smoke Splitboards, and Fat-ypus. (bring a credit card and identification for deposit), and sample snacks from Clifbar and Nuun. Wilderness Sports will be on-site demoing some gear from their store as well!

FREE Aprs Party:
In the A-Frame Lodge
2:00pm: Silent Auction opens in the A-Frame
4:00pm: Aprs Party, raffle, food and beer sales
4:30pm: Awards, raffle and live auction
5:00pm: Silent Auction closes
5:30pm: Silent Auction checkout begins

The registration fee for the Beacon Bowl competition will be donated to the CAIC and will include a raffle ticket, a beverage and a slice of pizza at the aprs ski party. Beacon Bowl participants must have a lift ticket or pass. Participants can purchase a discounted lift ticket ($50) when they register. Prizes will be awarded to the top 3 finishers in each division.