close burger
go back in burger

2024 Double Diamond Award Winners

Double Diamond Awards Celebrate Standout Snow Pros from the 2023-24 Season


Colorado Ski Country USA (CSCUSA) announced the winners of its 2023-24 Double Diamond Awards in front of an audience of industry leaders and partners at its annual meeting on June 6, at Coors Field. Sponsored by Leitner-Poma, the Double Diamond Awards, which have been given annually since 1999, honor the men and women who dedicate their seasons to making Colorado winter sports enjoyable, safer, and fun-filled.

“The recognition of the Double Diamond Awards is richly deserved by each and every one of the award winners,” said CSCUSA President and CEO Melanie Mills. “In partnership with our sponsor Leitner-Poma, we take a moment to celebrate the professionals who make skiing and snowboarding safer and more enjoyable for everyone, each day of the season.”



And the 2024 Double Diamond Awards go to…


Amy Geppi & Melanie Mills

Amy Geppi  |  Food & Beverage Professional of the Year
Copper Mountain
An industry veteran with extensive experience at several Colorado ski resorts, Amy Geppi has mastered the unique challenges of on-mountain dining, including staffing, transportation, and crowd management. She brought all that to bear as Copper unveiled Aerie, its new 19,000 sq. ft. facility mid-mountain lodge with three eateries.




Bill Henke & Melanie Mills

Bill Henke  |  Guest Services Professional of the Year
Sunlight Mountain Resort
Bill Henke brings more than 40 years of experience in corporate sales to the Guest Services Department at Sunlight Mountain Resort. According to his colleagues, he is intelligent, kind, and an excellent communicator, and his compassion, patience, and follow-through make him the perfect fit for Sunlight’s guest experience team.




Emily Moratta with Melanie Mills

Emily Moratta  |  Patroller of the Year
Arapahoe Basin
Emily Moratta manages Arapahoe Basin’s patrol medical training, coordinates EMT education, and liaises with the medical director. With advanced avalanche and rescue certifications, she plays a key role in snow safety and lift evacuation training. As a Summit County Search and Rescue Team Leader, Emily has logged nearly 900 hours on missions and trainings. Emily is also currently training her puppy Echo as an avalanche dog while she pursues her Advanced EMT certification.



Louis Miller on the Coors scoreboard

Louis Miller  |  Snow Groomer of the Year
Louis Miller’s colleagues from Eldora Mountain Resort accepted the award for Snow Groomer of the Year posthumously on his behalf. Louis, Eldora’s equipment manager and snowcat supervisor, died while working on the trail crew at Eldora in May, days after learning he had won the award. Originally from Kentucky, Louis worked in the ski industry for over 25 years. During the nomination process, he shared that he loved the physical and mental challenge of his job, and the focus and concentration necessary to overcome those challenges. ​



Marc Fernandes & Melanie Miller

Marc Fernandes  |  Instructor of the Year
Aspen Snowmass
Marc Fernandes is a 17-year veteran of Aspen’s Ski and Snowboard School. This award recognizes his work to update Aspen Snowmass’s New Hire Training Program as a comprehensive, multimedia experience. Marc’s colleagues say his always-smiling presence on the snow combined with an innate ability to connect with guests make him the ideal instructor for skiers and snowboarders of all ages and abilities.



Micah Schulman

Micah Schulman  |  Snowmaker of the Year
Echo Mountain

Micah Schulman has been with Echo for four years. During that time, he has excelled—first as a lift operator, then as a snowmaker, and now as Echo’s snowmaking supervisor. According to his colleagues, Micah’s persistent optimism and positive attitude, even during long, cold overnight shifts, make him a joy to work with, and his hard work, determination, and strategic thinking have significantly enhanced Echo’s snow surface quality. ​



Scott Mackie & Melanie Mills

Scott Mackie  |  Terrain Park Specialist of the Year
Aspen Snowmass
In his 11 years at Aspen, Scott Mackie has worked in food and beverage, hospitality, trail maintenance, terrain parks, and snowcat operations. Over the past decade, Scott has demonstrated an unparalleled attention to detail and an unwavering commitment to his team.




Micki Hackenberger, Piep van Heuven & Melanie Mills

Micki Hackenberger  |  President’s Award
The 2024 President’s Award, which is given annually to a person who has made significant and positive contributions to the trade association, went to Micki Hackenberger from Husch Blackwell Strategies. Micki’s political skills combined with her deep knowledge of and connections at the Capitol have been crucial in navigating state policy and legislation on issues of concern to the ski industry.





Rob Perlman introduces Senator Dylan Roberts

Senator Dylan Roberts  |  Chair’s Award
The 2024 Chair’s Award was presented to Senator Dylan Roberts, a strong and effective voice for mountain and rural communities at the Capitol. Senator Roberts was elected in 2022 to serve in Colorado’s 8th Senate District, which includes Summit, Eagle, Grand, and Routt Counties. Senator Roberts has passed numerous bills to protect our environment and water, lower healthcare costs, create housing solutions, and secure funding and tax incentives for passenger rail efforts.






All photos courtesy of Cort Muller